Friend Helps Select Excellence in Design Awards

Plans are underway for the 30th annual Waterfront Center Conference and for presenting this year's Excellence in Design Awards. Our own Virginia McLean, president of Friends for Our Riverfront, served on this year's inter-disciplinary jury to select the best waterfront projects in 2012. But she's not telling who the winners are, only that the projects range from small to gigantic and are scattered around the globe.

Each year the Waterfront Center Conference is a highpoint for planners, architects, landscape architects, and all those interested in waterfront design. This year it will be held in Washington, DC on Sept. 27-29th.

The conference is one of the ways the Waterfront Center provides educational services to help communities enhance their waterfronts - the objective: good design; economic feasibility; tailoring projects to the individuality, history, and economic climate of a community; participatory planning; environmental sensitivity; and provision of the maximum amount of public access to and along a waterfront.

Those same principals are the basis for selecting the Excellence in Design Awards. Mark O. Dawson, principal, Sasaki Associates Inc., Watertown Massachusetts was chairman of the multi-disciplinary jury, which, besides Ms. McLean, included Tim Arntzen, executive director, Port of Kennewick, WA; Eric Burchill, executive director, Waterfront Development Corporation, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada; and Mathieu Schouten, landscape architect, Municipality of Nijmegan, The Netherlands.

Click HERE for more information and to register for the conference.